Still working on it…

This is the evolving story of how an out of shape, NJ born & raised, somewhat normal guy living in Tampa, FL, got off the couch, became a casual runner, and is now preparing for his 4th marathon in just over 2 years. Early in 2010, a good friend asked me if I had any interest in running a marathon in Baltimore. Originally, the idea was crazy to me & kinda still is, “lets run a few hundred miles over 18 weeks to train, then pay money so we can run 26.2 miles for a t-shirt & medal? What?” At this point, I was 230 lbs, did little exercise outside of playing golf almost every weekend & saw no value in walking, jogging, or running, let alone doing it for miles & miles at a time. For some reason, I agreed to the marathon and started training. My first run, I couldn’t go 2 blocks without keeling over and resting, it was a painful wake-up call. However, after a few weeks, I started to feel really good, I had more energy, my pants were getting looser, I was running faster and smoother and I found myself enjoying the 6 a.m. runs through my local park as it was mentally refreshing.

I’d end up dropping 38 lbs & finishing the Baltimore Marathon that October in 5:17, swearing off marathons for the rest of my life immediately after crossing the finish line. The last 9 miles were a nightmare, I didn’t wanna quit during the race, I wanted an ambulance to come get me. But after recovering, I felt unsatisfied with my time and knew I could do better, I had enjoyed the event aspect, the crowds cheering, the satisfaction of crossing the finish line, running alongside so many people with their own story of how they got there, blowing kisses to the lady spectators, it was all so much fun. So I decided to just keep running, it didn’t matter how often, how far, or how fast, just had to keep running.

Now, I don’t have a gps watch, I tend to run in whatever sneakers are on sale, I don’t eat any of the right things, (I LOVE McRibs, pizza, hot dogs & pork roll), I struggle to get out of bed each morning to put on my sneakers, and prioritize too much in front of my running but love when I reach race day, so if any of this sound familiar and you want to get better, this is the spot to join my struggle & get better together. I look forward to sharing my struggles and achievements with you as we all try to get up & go to reach our goals.

-Vinbob

0 Responses to “Still working on it…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Social Media Powered By:

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,622 other followers

