I AM a runner!

January 16th 2013

 

I’m Nicole Behrendt.  I’m a 33 year old mother of 3. I started running years ago. This year will mark my 10th Bellin Run, and I’m working on my second half marathon, but I wouldn’t have called myself a runner before. I didn’t have the drive, determination, or joy of running before.

 

After I had my last child in 2011 and after I had been struggling with weight and baby blues I turned back to my old friend…running in 2012.

Running for me is a chance to clear my head. I turn on my music and whether the temperature is 9 degrees or 90 degrees I go and run. I only run outside as I don’t have a treadmill or a gym membership.

I would never have considered myself a runner before because quite honesty I don’t “look” like your average runner.  I’m not the long lean build of a runner with long strides that makes it look so effortless to go and run 8 miles. I’m overweight, I’m curvy, I have asthma, I’m slow, I do stop and walk when I’m tired, I’m what the average American looks like.

 

The difference is that I don’t give up. I keep going.  This being said I AM a runner. I’ve fought for every step, for every mile that I’ve logged. I’ve given blood, sweat, lots and lots of sweat and a tear or two.  I may not be fast, I may not look like a runner but I AM A RUNNER.  I strive to become faster, and to feel that runners high. The one you get when it feels like you could run forever and not be tired. That feeling is what I hope for when I run.

 

This Cellcom half marathon will be different because I don’t dread the training. I look forward to pounding the pavement. I look forward to the muscle aches that come from a good run. My goal is to beat my first half marathon time and to not feel defeated by the race. I’m noticing already that I can run longer and that in time my average time will go down.

 

I hope that I can inspire others that they can do this too. To prove that no matter the obstacles in front of you if you put your mind to it you can accomplish anything. That no matter your physical appearance, it’s your mental strength that will get you through anything!

 

It doesn’t matter if it’s a 20 minute mile or a 7 minute mile it’s STILL a mile.

 

Nicole Behrendt

 

 

2 Responses to “I AM a runner!”


  1. 1 Jess January 24, 2013 at 10:59 am

    I hear ya sister! Mother of two, curvy asthmatic here! See you in the tunnel inhaler in tow! ;)

  2. 2 Pam Berg January 25, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    Awesome and inspiring!!! I enjoyed your story!!!


Leave a Reply

Social Media Powered By:

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,379 other followers

