The grandpa shuffle

Hello, I am 46 years old, married with three younger kids, and I am technically NOT a first time marathon runner.  Here’s what happened.  Ten years ago I had some personal things going on… lots of change.  Through that change I ended up trying new things and attempting things that I had always wanted to do.  I saw an advertisement 10 days before the Fox Cities Marathon.  Running was something I used to blow off stress… so that summer I had run more than usual, but only 1 – 3 miles at a time.  I figured that if I was EVER going to run a marathon, this would be the time to sign up for one.  The night before I committed to doing it, I ran 13 miles.  I figured if I could run ½ the way, I could find a way to cross the finish line.  So in fall of 2003 I ran 26.2 miles and crossed the finish line doing what I called, “The grandpa shuffle” in a little more than 6 hours.  I vowed to do it again and actually TRAIN.  So, while sitting at the kitchen table with my wife going over goals for 2013, I threw this in as a goal.  We are also working on becoming debt free… which makes it a little more interesting to come up with new shoes and the entry fee without borrowing/using credit cards.  I’ll find a way to fund it using eBay, Craigslist, and whatever else I can finagle!  My goals are to pay cash, not be crippled for two weeks post finish, and knock an hour or more off my time.  I’ve got 32 miles in and 3 items up on eBay so far in January… hope your training is going well too. It’s not too late to start!

 

Dan Bushner

1 Response to “The grandpa shuffle”


  1. 1 Holly January 29, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    I’m very proud of you Dan! You’re gonna make it!!!


Leave a Reply

Social Media Powered By:

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« May   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,379 other followers

