Run because you love and others will follow

1-24-13
Some questions that I get asked on a daily basis by non-runners, or new runners.

How do you run when it’s so cold? I get that question a lot! Basically just layer yourself up.
I ran last night it was a balmy 11 but felt like -1. The wind was chilling my face and my eyes were tearing up. It was so cold that my tears were actually freezing to my face. I had just started out and hadn’t gotten “warm” yet. But as I went along and warmed up it really wasn’t that bad.

What do you wear?
I had on a fleecy long sleeve, a wicking long sleeve over that, a neon T-shirt, some compression socks and workout pants, along with my usually scarf, mittens, headband. I probably should have worn another layer under the workout pants but you live and you learn.
I use to never run in single digit temps, but since starting this journey again I feel like I can do it.
Who in their right mind would run when it’s that cold out? I would, because I don’t have a gym membership or a treadmill. I run outside and that’s how I like it. It may be cold but it keeps me moving. There is no giving up because how am I going to get home if I’m 3 miles out? I need to run my butt home, and that is what I do.

I’m not a runner?
I am not built like a typical runner but as soon as someone tells me I can’t or I shouldn’t I prove them wrong. It’s not your shape, or your lack of physical activity. It’s drive, its determination.
Anyone can be a runner and we all start somewhere. Maybe you can only run for 5 min it’s a start and you only can get better.

I tell people my story because it gets people to realize that you can do it! My friend that has never ran a race in her life starting running and ran the Turkey trot with me. This year she also signed up for the half marathon. She’s super excited to run it and she says I’ve inspired her to do it. Really…me? It’s hard for me to grasp that I could inspire someone else.

I do what I do because I love it! I don’t do it for a pat on the back or admiration, but if that comes with sharing your story then so be it!
Run because you love and others will follow :)

-Nicole Behrendt

2 Responses to “Run because you love and others will follow”


  1. 1 Jen W March 8, 2013 at 11:05 am

    I get all the “you’re crazy; it’s too cold out” or the “how many layers did you have to wear?” comments! When I first started running about 5 years ago, no one “got it”. Then three-ish years ago, I suddenly had friends from church and college wanting to know if I would run with them. Three of us did our first half marathon together in September of 2011. I love how that works! Now that I’ve posted I’m going to run the Cellcom Half, I have people popping up all over facebook from all parts of life saying, “me too!”

    Keep up the good work, stay warm and have fun!

    • 2 ittybittydc@aol.com March 28, 2013 at 10:05 am

      I love it that you also run outside! It’s hard work but I think makes you feel like you can do anything! Keep up the great work. Spring is coming I promise. Ha ha.


Leave a Reply

Social Media Powered By:

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,621 other followers

