My Journey to the Finish Line: Balance

It seems that no matter what you’re doing balance is essential in everyday lives; balancing your budget, your tires, and your breakfast. Marathon training has proven to be no different. I know I’m not the only one who feels there are just not enough hours in a day, but I think I’m finally striking a balance between personal life, work life, and marathon life.

As a novice marathon runner, I am still in a bit of shock as to how much training for one race can really affect every aspect of my life. The end goal is to cross the finish line. However, to get there takes many, many hours of dedication, pain, gallons of sweat, an obsession of how to become the most efficient, most effective, and healthiest version of yourself you can possibly be.  Not to mention paying attention to everything you consume, how Mother Nature is going to affect the outcome of your next run, and planning every social event and appointment around your training schedule.

The last few months have helped me fine tune the priorities in my life. I have learned that it is great to be able to stick to the training plan day-by-day. Sometimes, it’s also okay to postpone the three mile run midweek to celebrate someone’s accomplishments at work or to go out for a spontaneous dinner with my boyfriend. Those moments, just like what I imagine crossing the finish line feels like, are the moments in life that really count. Those moments keep a lot of us going and are very important in balancing our lives.

I have found that some of my best runs have been when I feel completely balanced; everything at work is centered, my house is in order, my family & friends are healthy, and I have gotten enough rest. The balanced runs allow me focus on crossing the finish line on May 19th.

As we are nearing the halfway point in training, I will be hitting the snooze button an extra time in the morning or enjoying that cupcake for a coworker’s birthday, small indulgences really help me keep my life balanced. Training isn’t meant to be all work and no play—it’s meant to balance the physical, mental, and emotional components in our lives and make us stronger, happier people.

See you at the finish line!

 

-Samantha Van Dehy

0 Responses to “My Journey to the Finish Line: Balance”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Social Media Powered By:

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,621 other followers

