Check Your Head

I’m not sure about all of you, but I like to follow a training program when I train for a marathon.  For some people who have several more under their belt I know that they are not as strict with following a routine. The problems with following a routine is that well, like most people I have a life outside of running that also has a routine. (work, kids, spouse)    Sometimes the two don’t see eye to eye and I spend myself stressing over when to do what, and if I move a run here, should I rest there!?!

I overanalyze and over think.  I know and own it, it is what I do.  Don’t even get me started on Wisconsin weather because that in itself is a whole other ball of wax. The funny thing is as I have been training this time around I have proven to myself that the mental game is far more powerful than we give it credit to.

For training I did both my 17 and 18 mile runs on a treadmill.  (and I wasn’t even on Tosh.O). While crazy may be a word that comes to mind, it give me a sense of mental stamina that I would never have had, had I not forced myself to do it.  I didn’t have a lot of other options, so I made it work.

Last weekend I was back home at my parents and did one of my 20 milers.  I wanted some hills, which I got-along with some rain.  Previously, the thought of freezing temperatures and rain would have made me cry.  This time, I was more worried about a country dog chasing after me, which is exactly what happened.

Now I know not all runs are rainbows and sunshine, I have had my share of bad ones too, but keeping the good ones at the forefront and thinking about what went well keep me on track mentally.  Which is what we need, like George S. Patton once said…”Now if you are going to win any battle you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up. It is always tired morning, noon, and night. But the body is never tired if the mind is not tired. When you were younger the mind could make you dance all night, and the body was never tired…You’ve always got to make the mind take over and keep going.”

Keep your head in the training and let’s dance all night!

~Amy

www.running4fromlife.blogspot.com

0 Responses to “Check Your Head”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Social Media Powered By:

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,621 other followers

