Listen to your heart

I love to run. Simply put, in a lot of ways it defines me. I run when I’m happy, when I’m sad, when I’m frustrated. When injury has “sidelined” me, my husband always jokingly says that the doctor had best clear me to run soon, or he’ll pack up my bag and drop me off at the doc’s house.  Except I wonder if that may have a touch of seriousness to it?  When I can’t run, I try to cross train by biking, using the elliptical, swimming, or weight lifting, but nothing creates quite the same “buzz” as running does. So I simply get cranky.

Sometimes I try to share the pure joy I get from running with people who don’t quite get it. I think others assume every run is awesome and easy and I never struggle through the miles on the training schedule. None of that is true. It’s often hard and painful, and sometimes my body screams “stop” but I listen to my heart instead. I found a quote online that reads, “Run with your legs to be fast, run with your mind to be faster, run with your heart to be unstoppable.”

So on the next long run, trust your training, shut your brain off, and listen to your heart. It knows the way.

-Pam Berg

0 Responses to “Listen to your heart”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Social Media Powered By:

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,337 other followers

